U.S. travel restrictions from EU announced

Mar 11, 2020 2:11:49 PM

As reported by the Department of Homeland Security, “Today President Donald J. Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation, which suspends the entry of most foreign nationals who have been in certain European countries at any point during the 14 days prior to their scheduled arrival to the United States. These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. This does not apply to legal permanent residents, (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens, and other individuals who are identified in the proclamation.”

CIS Abroad will continue to monitor how this may impact students returning from faculty-led programs in the coming days, as well as students who have been recalled by their home universities in the last few days who might not yet be returned. We understand there are likely to be additional screenings in place for citizens returning home, although the ban “does not apply to any lawful permanent resident of the United States“. Read the full proclamation here.